Be Brave

Fear is easy. Faith is empowering.

Be Brave | Everyday Encouragements

I wasn’t scared.

I was terrified.

How could I jump into the pool and have water close over my head? What if I sucked in too much water before the swim teacher got to me? What if I hit my head and went unconscious before I remembered how to float?

Even during “ring-around-the-rosie” on the shallow entrance ramp of the pool, I refused to allow anything above my upper lip to descend beneath the water’s surface. The home videos of this time reveal a skinny little girl who was afraid of almost everything except mud in her yellow sand bucket. But that’s a different story.

Truth is, I was terrified of drowning. So much so that I still don’t know how to swim and rarely go beyond the 4ft. mark because I’m barely over 5ft. tall and goodness knows I can’t relax enough to float should I slip.

I wasn’t brave enough to learn how to swim when I was six. And I’m not all that much braver now.

I may have been “brave” enough to start Hearts for Purity and stand before a few dozen people once a year to tell them what I’ve learned through reading the Bible and books about the Bible.

But I’m not brave enough to learn a skill that can save my life.

And that lack of bravery has seeped into almost every area of my life.

This lack of bravery has another name. It’s called fear.

It’s scary to face your fear, isn’t it? It’s so much easier to hide that fear away, to laugh it off and say “no thank you” to trying something that scares you out of your wits, because if you can just forget about that fear, it won’t bother you. You’ll be safe and tucked into your little security bubble and nothing bad will happen, right?

May I speak some frank truth into both your life and mine, dear friend?

If you are scared of something–anything–you need to realize that you can shatter that fear with a few simple words.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. 2 Timothy 1:7

Those words hold a wonderful promise that comes from God alone: you were not meant to live in fear. Here’s another truth from God’s Word:

What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee. Proverbs 56:3

Not only do you have no reason to fear, you also have a loving heavenly Father in Whom you can trust.

Choosing to be brave can be small, like trying Thai food for the first time or branching out and getting a different ice cream flavor than usual. And it can be huge and life-changing, like standing firm for biblical truth and finding yourself very much alone, or packing up your family and belongings and following God to your new home—when you don’t have the faintest idea where in the world that may be.

In such moments we are faced with a choice: we can buckle and heed the devil’s lies that  we can’t, or we can call on God, drawing our strength from Him as we choose to be brave and faithful in what He has called us to do. Friend, we don’t have to fear, we don’t have to worry, we don’t have to walk around in defeat. He is God Almighty and He is in control. We need simply be brave enough to put our trust fully in Him, brave enough to have faith that He knows what He’s doing in your life and mine.

So here’s my challenge to you–

Face your fear.

I don’t know what it is.

I don’t know why it scares you

But I know God is bigger.

Be brave, dear heart.

Be brave.

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

