A Walk in Faith

 To step out of the boat, amdist the storm, and simply walk…

A Walk in Faith | Everyday Encouragements

 

The  waves tossed the little boat back and forth as the storm greatly worsened. The men huddled together, praying they would not be destroyed by the waves.Then suddenly they saw someone walking toward them–on the water! “It must be a ghost!” they cried fearfully.

But the apparition called out to them and said, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.” It was then that the men realized the figure on the water was Jesus Christ!

Yet still, Peter doubted. “Lord, if it is really You, command me to come to You on the water.”

Jesus’ reply was simple. “Come.”

So Peter stepped out of the boat and began to walk across the water toward Jesus, the storm raging around them. Peter lifted his eyes to the storm and suddenly fear overtook him, and he began to sink. He cried out to Jesus, “Lord, save me!” and Jesus was there to reach out a hand and pull Peter from the threatening waves.

Gripping Peter’s hand, Jesus looked into his eyes and asked, “Oh you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

{ Matthew 14:22-31, paraphrased }

garnish

I am surrounded by a storm that tosses my little boat about on turbulent seas. I fear, lest I be dashed to bits or sunk beneath the waves. And then I see my dear Savior there in the midst, calmly in control of it all.  He asks me to step out of that little boat and whatever it represents–my comfort zone; my hopes, dreams and desires; my fears and worries–and walk toward Him across the turbulent waves. I do so hesitantly, perhaps, as I want to follow His leading yet I’m ill at ease not knowing what to expect. My eyes remain fixed upon His precious face.

But the winds of doubt are blowing with gusto, and as  the storm rages around me, I turn my eyes to it. Why, it’s even more gruesome and frightening than I’d thought! And as I quake in fear and dread of this storm, I find myself sinking beneath the weight of it all. And when I realize I’m sinking, a greater panic seize  me.

Then a still, small Voice whispers to my heart, “I’m here.”

With His mighty hand He pulls me  from my perilous state and plants my feet in the safety of His grace. And suddenly, everything comes out right. Oh, maybe not my “right” but certainly  His “right”.  And that’s when I begin to praise Him and His perfect plan as I marvel again at His omnipotence.

“Oh you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

garnish

The Christian life is truly a walk in faith. But blind faith is the best kind, because we grow closer to Christ.  In 2 Corinthians 5:7 we are reminded that we walk by faith and not by sight. And in John 8:12 Jesus said “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

I don’t know where you are today; I don’t know what you’re going through. But I do know that this journey with Christ is made up of a thousand great and small steps of faith. Our Savior is constantly asking us to exercise our faith in Him by stepping out with our eyes on Him as Peter did. And when we doubt, He is there to remind us that He alone is in control and knows exactly how everything will come out in the end. What a comforting thought!

To fear or doubt is easy. To walk in faith is often difficult. Yet the result is so much sweeter.

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

