Only One Life…

Everyday, we fill our lives with activity of some sort.

We work  hard, bettering ourselves academically, socially, physically, financially.

But what do we really have to show for our lives?

At the end of life, everything we’ve done, everything we own, stays behind.

Even our bodies remain to be placed in the ground.

What are you doing today that will last for all eternity?

Is there anything that you have done to further God’s kingdom?

Or are you waiting  until { fill in the blank } ?

…whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. James 4:14

My friend, our lives are short in comparison with eternity.

So prepare for eternity: further the Kingdom of God.

  • Has it been awhile since you shared the Gospel with an unsaved friend or family member?
  • How often do you feed and care for the poor, widowed, orphaned–in your own country or abroad?
  • Are you supporting any missionaries financially and/or through prayer?
  • When was the last time you prayed for those running our country to make wise decisions based upon the Word of God?
  • Have you ever tried to share what God’s Word really says about controversial topics such as abortion, homosexuality, global warming, origin of life, etc.?
  • When was the last time you loved your enemies, blessed those who have cursed you, done good to those who hate you, prayed for those who have spitefully used you {Matthew 5:44} ?

It’s all too easy to get caught up in our comfortable little lives, surrounding ourselves the pleasures and comforts our first-world country supplies.

We avoid the things we don’t like or don’t want to do.

We strive for the goals we’ve been taught are worth reaching–a college degree, several friends, a healthy body shape/weight, lots of money and possessions–at the risk of being considered a failure if we don’t have these things.

We as Christians easily forget verses such as Ecclesiastes 2:9-11:

So I became great and excelled more than all who were before me in Jerusalem.

Also my wisdom remained with me. 

Whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them.

I did not withhold my heart from any pleasure,

For my heart rejoiced in all my labor;

And this was my reward from all my labor.  

Then I looked on all the works that my hands had done

And on the labor in which I had toiled;

And indeed all was vanity and grasping for the wind.

There was no profit under the sun.

Much of what we do in this life is really just “grasping for the wind”.

It doesn’t make any real difference in light of eternity.

It doesn’t really profit others.

It doesn’t further the Kingdom of God.

Remember, it’s not wrong to have a good education, good friendships, physical health, or money and possessions.

But if we are placing greater value on these things than on serving God and following His will for our lives, we’re doing it wrong.

You have only one life to live.

Make it count for Christ.

Only One Life... | Everyday Encouragements

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

