the writer in me

Meghan Gorecki of Just As I Am has recently started a new blog, Every Good Word, which is especially for the writterly minded. And as part of the launch party, she has asked some thought provoking questions of us writers for a blog link-up! 🙂

Here’s my  answers:

  1. What was your first-ever piece of writing? A story titled Inchworms in Outer Space. I was five at the time, and my dad typed it on the computer for me while I recited it.  😉
  2. How old were you when you first began writing?  I’ve always been making up and writing down stories. But the first time I took it into my head to write a book? I was eleven. My parents had a rule that they had to read any/all books before me. I was out of books that I was permitted to read, so I decided to start writing my own books so that I’d have more reading options! By the time I was fourteen, this ‘writing thing’ had turned into a desire to write professionally.
  3. Name two writing goals. One short term & one long term. My short term goal is to finish my current writing project (not telling the name just yet 😉 ) by January so I can post it on Christian Manuscript Submissions and to self publish my two H4P books. My long term goal is to eventually have a multi-book contract with a Christian publisher.
  4. Do you write fiction or non-fiction? Both, actually! Fiction holds first place in my heart, but there is also a special place for writing informational books for my ministry, Hearts for Purity. I also enjoy blogging 🙂
  5. Bouncing off of question 4, what’s your favorite genre to write in? Christian Historical is definitely my fiction genre of choice, though I enjoy writing a little contemporary on occasion.
  6. One writing lesson you’ve learned since 2013 began. There’s more that goes into writing a book than you’d think. I had never really looked at the reality of writing as a career before this year began. Now that I’ve looked into it, recognizing the work, effort, and challenges ahead, I can hardly wait for the adventure to officially begin!
  7. Favorite author, off the top of your head!  Janette Oke, hands down. I’ve read/collected most of her books!
  8. Three current favorite books. Ask me to pick a favorite child? 😛 Okay, uhm. . .  Love Comes Softly series by Janette Oke; Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery; & Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
  9. Biggest influence on your writing {person}: My mom and dad. They have both encouraged me so much while growing up. Daddy said “Find some thing you love, and find a way to make money from it.” I picked writing, and they both have encouraged me to stretch myself and reach for great things. Many a time I have gone to them for advice and to talk over story ideas. ❤
  10. What’s your go-to writing music? The Road to Avonlea TV series soundtracks or Tchaikovsky. The music never fails to inspire my little fingers to fly across the keys!
  11. List three to five writing quirks of your’s! Little habits, must-haves as you write, etc. Water as I always get thirsty, a note pad and cheap pen for scribbling/doodling, and any reference materials nearby, including objects, pictures, Pinterest board of story inspiration and the one of reference websites. I also need room to pace around and a notebook to hold. I come up with my best dialogue when pacing around my bedroom holding one of my beloved black marble-backed composition books. (yeah, I know I’m weird)
  12. What, in three sentences or less, does your writing mean to you? Everything. I’ve tried to not write or to write only non-fiction, but I can’t do it. It’s like a piece of me is missing if I don’t weave words into a fictitious story set in days gone by. I can’t not write.

Well, that’s my weird, writerly self in a nutshell! Interested in joining the link up? Just follow this link.

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

4 thoughts on “the writer in me”

  1. Loved this post! I bet the story of the inchworm was pretty cool! 😉 I started writing pretty young too…I’m not sure I’m going to pursue being an author though. I find it really neat that you are pursuing that! I’m looking forward to reading what you have written. 🙂

    Like

Let's chat....

