Giving a Reason to be Thankful

Giving a Reason to be Thankful | Everyday Encouragements

Today, I am thankful.

I guess that’s what everyone is posting, though. Thankful for friends, family, food, clothes, etc. Yeah, I’ve said all that before.

And yet, am I really thankful for those things?

When I compare my life to the less fortunate, which less fortunate am I comparing myself to? The ones who don’t have as grand a spread on their dinner table? Or the ones that really truly have nothing? What about the people that I’ve heard about the past few weeks? The ones on the news and over the radio?

Like the 19 yr. old girl who dropped out of college to raise her three younger siblings after their parents died in Hurricane Sandy? Or what about the two or three families I know of that have, in just the past week, lost a loved one to illness? And the lady I heard about on the radio, the one who lost her husband and three kids when their house burned down?

Even though these stories bring tears to my eyes, these people, with their various new challenges and struggles, still have more than other folks in the world.They need prayer and God’s strength, but they still have more than others.

Such as those families who live in third-world countries, or orphans in Russia. What do they have to be thankful for today? Is there something I could do to give them something to be thankful for? Is it possible that the reason they have so little to be thankful for, is that I did not give them something? That I did not pray for their salvation,  give of my time or money, or even think about their needs?

We in a America have so much more than anyone in another country could hope for. And yet one of our “greatest problems” is that we forget to grab that extra shampoo when we were at Walmart the last time, and now we’re out.

Let’s break this down:

Thanksgiving Day (n.) a day to give thanks for all that we have.

Ah, now let’s look at it again. “A day to give thanks for all that we have.” Why can you give thanks today? it’s because someone else is giving or gave for you. (Soldiers, your parents, your family and friends,  Jesus Christ dying on the Cross just to name a few)

Today, don’t just give thanks to others and to God for all that you have been given.

Be the reason someone else can give thanks. 🙂

 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how He said, It is more blessed to give than to receive. ~Acts 20:35

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

1 thought on “Giving a Reason to be Thankful”

Let's chat....

