Love is Patient


Love Is Patient

{by Karaline, 16, Vancouver, Wash.}
  
Patience now means patience next
Patience before—then into forevermore
To have a darling one now,
Still I must learn patience.
 
I have a dream to be loved 
for a life-time by my dream;
to be loved and cherished by another
for me to cherish in return takes patience.
 
Honor is another dream;
to honor him with love.
For my dream to honor me
He will be clothed in virtues.
I will honor him at the gate in love,
Through patience.
 
I often wish I did not
need to exercise patience.
My human nature screams
for what I want to materialize before
my eyes the moment I want it.
 
Though in my heart of hearts, I know,
my dreams require what I must learn
Patience.
 
Although I long for my darling one
to come to me,
I do not realize that I do have
a true Darling One to talk to and love and
cherish and honor—even now!
 
However, even for this Darling One
I still must practice and learn patience.
 
I may talk to Him now
and until forevermore.
However, on this Darling One
I still wait.
 
He has gone to prepare
a place for me.
Although He is not here with me
I feel His love. He sends me flowers
in spring, has written me letters—
but still I must be patient.
 
I sit here writing, waiting for
my two lovers.
One will be present, the Other eternal.
I love them both
patiently.

I’m waiting. It’s not always easy; in fact, many times it’s extremely difficult. But it will be worth it on my wedding day. It will be worth it in my marriage.

Yes, the trying days come. But didn’t James say, “My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.” {James 1:2-4}

And Paul said, “Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.” {Romans 5:1-4}

So those difficult days of waiting will come. But they are an opportunity to draw closer to God. And one day, when/if He brings a dashing prince to my door with a proposal of marriage, I’ll love God even more than that dashing prince, and be able to honor, reverence, and cherish him all the more.

There is a joy in waiting that many miss out on, because they choose to play the dating game, or grow restless and sometimes bitter in their singleness. Do I want to be married? Absolutely, a thousand times, yes!! But I’m not going to waste time now, when God clearly has some lessons for me to learn and a future to prepare me for. Waiting is worth it. And it won’t seem quite so much like waiting when you are actively serving your King.

Love is Patient | Everyday Encouragements

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

