Dry Hands

dry handsIt was January, which is probably the coldest month of the year here in Maine. The air was incredibly dry, and it was making my hands dry and itchy.  Because this was a distraction to me, I tried to solve the problem—by running warm water over my cold, dry hands. I did this often, and it wasn’t long before my hands were red, cold, and dry.

Well, I did the brilliant thing and kept running water over my hands. One day I decided to go without the water for as long as I could, hoping that it would cure my hands. This resolution lasted about twenty minutes.  Not long after this my hands started  to be cracked and bleeding, but I kept trying to use water to fix them.

Finally one day, my mother noticed my hands and asked me what was wrong them. I explained what I’d been doing. “Micaela, you can’t do that. It doesn’t  help at all. The only thing that’s going to make them better and not dry anymore is hand cream.” Mama then pulled a hand cream bottle from her desk drawer and squirted some into my hands. I quickly rubbed it in, and  soon my hands felt a little better. Though it took a few days for my hands to be back to normal, I was able to focus better on my schoolwork or whatever I was doing–thanks to the hand cream.

This is what many Christians do in their daily lives(I’ve done it many times before). Their lives are dry: something’s missing, so they try to fix it by pouring water (worldly pleasures) into their lives. This doesn’t work, so they try harder, still hoping to feel fulfilled with relationships, media, friends, etc. Only when they turn to God to meet their needs do they feel this fulfillment and are no longer dry; they got some “Holy Hand Cream” :).

We need to steer clear of worldly pleasures and focus on God’s will in our lives. By looking to Him to meet our emotional, physical, and spiritual needs, we will experience true fulfilment and not need the things of this world. We were created to serve Him, and we can’t do that if we are still living in the world.

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. ~1 John 2:15

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

2 thoughts on “Dry Hands”

Let's chat....

