I’ll Show You the Way

I'll Show You the Way | Everyday Encouragements

It was Wednesday, November 9, 2011. My dad was at work; my mom and sister were at an orthodontist appointment. And I was at home with my two youngest siblings.

Recently I had suffered a few big disappointments, and in just a week, some of my dearest friends would be moving about 3 1/2 to 4 hours away. My heart was very heavy.

Lunchtime came, and I stood looking out the back door as my younger siblings ate. “What do I do, Lord?”  I prayed. “I can’t see what You are doing, nor what You want of me.” I paused. “Lord, I need a head-poker. Help me to see Your way.” I pressed my forehead to the glass of the door, wishing I could know what God had for me.

Suddenly I felt a burden to go to the woods. I had to go to the woods right away. “Hurry and finish eating,” I said to my little brother and sister. They finally finished, and I said, “Let’s go outside for a bit.” When we got out there, I convinced them of the benefits of a walk  in the woods, and we set off around the house for the backyard and the woods beyond. (The woods behind our house are on the ledges, so it is a nice little climb.) There was one spot in particular I wanted to be: the place from which we can see a small patch of the Atlantic Ocean.

As we started up the path, my little sister started to walk ahead of me. “Grace, you need to not walk on ahead. I know exactly where we are going, and exactly how to get there. Stay by my side, and let me lead you.”

The words had no sooner left my mouth than I could almost hear the Lord saying, “I know exactly where you are going, and exactly how to get there. Stay by My side and let Me lead you.” My earlier prayer came to mind, and suddenly the little walk in the woods took on new meaning.

We reached a  point in the path where we had to go either right or left. The way we needed to go was to the left, but Donald was confused. He looked back at me. “Which way?”

I'll SHow You the Way | Everyday Encouragements

“That way,” I pointed, and he set off. Several times in that short walk Donald would stop and ask which way to go. Of course, many times the place he thought was the path either was not the right path or was not a path at all! This reminded me of my own life. How often (especially lately) had I come to a place in my Christian walk and asked God’s direction, and all the while God was thinking, “Micaela, that’s not even a path!”

Finally we were almost to our destination. “How much further? My legs are getting tired,” said Grace. I smiled, “Not far; it’s just over there.” And I realized, God probably hears me say that as well: “God, how much longer must I wait? How much longer must I keep doing such-and-such?”

I led my younger siblings up to that particular spot and then turned them to face in the right direction, so that they could see the ocean. Then I looked up, and the view took my breath away.

I'll Show You the Way | Everyday Encouragements

The above picture was taken later that day, so it doesn’t capture the beauty of  what I saw quite so well.  You could see the water better, and it was bluer, the wind was blowing gently, the sunshine made that yellow tree glow–it was truly a picture painted by the Creator.

And as I stood drinking in that beauty, I could almost hear God saying, “I know exactly where you are going, and exactly how to get there. Stay by My side, and let Me lead you. Because when you get there, you’ll love what you see.”

A short time later I took my siblings back down to the house, treasuring the lessons I had just learned. God knew every last little detail of my life, and what He was doing in and through me. I just need to trust and follow Him. Yes, that can be so hard, but is His grace not sufficient?

“I’ll show you the way,” said the Lord. And that’s just what He’s doing. 🙂

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

4 thoughts on “I’ll Show You the Way”

Let's chat....

