Life: Bitter or Sweet?

life bitter or sweet

I like coffee quite a bit. My favorite way to drink it is decaf with a couple spoonfuls of sugar and a little bit of creamer(French Vanilla or Hazelnut are the preferred).

The other day I was making myself a cup of coffee, and I put in the usual two spoonfuls of sugar and splash of creamer. As I took a sip, I noticed how sweet it was……too sweet, actually. “I’ll try leaving out the sugar next time. That hazelnut creamer is really sweet.”

Next day, I made my coffee…..without any sugar. I took the first sip and it was horribly bitter! Plus, it had cooled  down to lukewarm so it  just tasted  yucky. I added a spoonful of sugar and put the mug in the microwave to heat it up. The next sip I took was excellent….the perfecct blend of  sweet and bitter and hot: just the way I like it. I happily settled into my chair to enjoy my coffee.

As I sat there, slowly sipping my drink, a quote came to  my mind.

Life is a lot like coffee: it can be bitter, or you can make it sweeter by what you put in it.

Life is full of trials and disappointments. We can allow these hardships to make us bitter. Or we can make this difficult time of life  sweeter, by what we put in it. Rather than sowing more bitterness (which will lead to a lukewarm relationship with Christ), we can sow joy and love.

“How?” you may ask. Well, when you feel discouraged or disappointed or burdened by a trial, simply pray or read God’s Word, or go find other people who are also discouraged and then encourage them. So you’re going through a hard time in your life: lean on God, draw your strength from Him, then go out and serve Him unreservedly. Watch as the joy, peace, and love flow over and through you. You’ll be amazed by the blessings you’ll receive in return for being a blessing to others in need!

Don’t let the trials of life make you bitter. Instead, add a little sweetness from God’s Word and go serve Him faithfully.

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

