Blind Contentment

Blind Contentment | Everyday Encouragements

Fanny Crosby wrote this little poem when she was about eight years old. She had been blinded as a baby, never to regain her sight. Even as a little girl, she chose not to be bitter or discontent in her state of blindness.

The first time I read that poem, I was touched by it. “If a little girl can be content to be blind, then surely I can be content, too.” It wasn’t until a couple of months ago that I saw this poem in a new light.

So often, I want to see what God’s plan is for my life. I want to know what He’s doing and how it will effect the future. Sometimes I feel as if I can’t see what I’m supposed to do. I feel…….blind to what the future holds.

Here’s where the poem helps. I can choose to be anxious or frustrated by this state of not knowing, or I can choose to be content. In this world of the unexpected uncontrollable, I can be resolved to be content with what I do know. And  when I’m content, I can enjoy such wonderful blessings from the Lord…….blessings that discontent people don’t enjoy! To weep and sigh because I’m blind to what God is doing…….I can not and I won’t!!

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content. ~Philippians 4:11

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

