Pure and Reflective, Like Silver or Gold

Last night in my devotional time, I was reading Proverbs 17. Verse 3 stood out to me: “The refining pot is for silver and the furnace for gold, but the Lord trieth (tests) the heart.” It reminded me of a story I heard in church one time:

When a silversmith is going to make something of silver, he must first make it pure. The silversmith puts the silver in a pot over the fire, so that it will melt. Then, as it melts, the impure things rise to the surface. The silversmith then removes those impurities and waits for more to surface. Then removes those as well. He keeps doing this, with the pot of silver over the fire, until all the impurities are removed and he can see his reflection when he looks at the silver.

Well, as the above verse states, God does the same thing to us!  He is the silversmith, and He will continue trying us and testing us until He can see His reflection in us. And the best part is, He won’t stop until that happens! Yes, the trials might seem long and difficult. But the end result is that we are more like Jesus! And that makes the trials worth going through. 🙂 He refines, that we may be as pure as silver or gold.

Rejoice in the Lord by Ron Hamilton

God never moves without purpose or plan When trying His servant and molding a man. Give thanks to the Lord though your testing seems long; In darkness He giveth a song.

(Chorus) O Rejoice in the Lord He makes no mistake, He knoweth the end of each path that I take, For when I am tried And purified, I shall come forth as gold.

I could not see through the shadows ahead; So I looked at the cross of my Savior instead. I bowed to the will of the Master that day; Then peace came and tears fled away.

Now I can see testing comes from above; God strengthens His children and purges in love. My Father knows best, and I trust in His care; Through purging more fruit I will bear.

O Rejoice in the Lord He makes no mistake, He knoweth the end of each path that I take, For when I am tried And purified, I shall come forth as gold.

So next time you are faced with a trial, remember this: God is allowing this because He knows that you will become more like Him because of it. Don’t question the trial or bother fighting it; allow God to do His perfect work in you!

Author: Micaela

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me. ~Galatians 2:20~

Let's chat....

